PEN New England

PEN new england

Information and submission guidelines now available for the PEN HemingwayPEN+NE, and Children's Book Discovery awards.

Please direct inquires to Karen Wulf, Executive Director

Henry David Thoreau Prize

Established in 2010 by writer and naturalist Dale Peterson, the Henry David Thoreau Prize is awarded annually to a writer demonstrating literary excellence in nature writing. Previous winners are Gretel Ehrlich, E. O. Wilson, Gary Snyder, and Peter Matthiessen.

2014 Winner T. C. Boyle 

What have I found? Art and nature, the twin deities that sustained Wordsworth and Whitman and all the others whose experience became too complicated for received faith to contain it.


T. Coraghessan Boyle is the author of twenty-four books of fiction, including After the Plague (2001), Drop City (2003),The Inner Circle (2004), Tooth and Claw (2005), The Human Fly (2005), Talk Talk (2006), The Women (2009), Wild Child (2010), When the Killing's Done (2011), San Miguel (2012) and T.C. Boyle Stories II (2013). His stories have appeared in most of the major American magazines, including The New Yorker, Harper's, Esquire, The Atlantic Monthly, Playboy, The Paris Review, GQ, Antaeus, Granta andMcSweeney's, and he has been the recipient of a number of literary awards, including the PEN/Faulkner Prise for best novel of the year (World's End, 1988); the PEN/Malamud Prize in the short story (T.C. Boyle Stories, 1999); and the Prix Médicis Étranger for best foreign novel in France (The Tortilla Curtain, 1997). He has been a member of the English Department at the University of Southern California since 1978, where he is Distinguished Professor of English, and currently lives near Santa Barbara with his wife and three children.

PEN New England
MIT 14N-221A, 77 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge MA 02139
 617.324.1729  ~

    Copyright © 2013–2014 PEN New England. All rights reserved.